PDA

View Full Version : Hi, help with wild squirrel

NancyJean
01-29-2016, 05:54 PM
Hi, I have been feeding a wild squirrel for three years now. Four years ago, my husband used to say that he saw a squirrel with no tail and first thought "Houdini" was a bunny. My husband and kids named her that bc she obviously escaped something. We all have become so attached to Houdini, hand feeding her a couple times a day. Recently, poor little girl came around not being able to walk or run like she normally does, sort of like in a daze, to the point where I could probably pet her. She takes a few steps then rests, takes a few more, then rests. She is eating well: walnuts, grapes, avocados, pecans, pistachios, almonds and peanuts. What should I do? I don't want her to be eaten.

NancyJean
01-29-2016, 06:05 PM
a pic of Houdini

SammysMom
01-29-2016, 08:02 PM
Have you looked to see if there is a rehabber near you? It sounds like your friend needs some help. Do you see any marks or wounds as though she maybe was hit by a car or fell?

HRT4SQRLS
01-29-2016, 08:38 PM
:wave123 NancyJean
:Welcome to TheSquirrelBoard

Thanks for helping Houdini. It is possible that she hurt herself. I have seen them fall from a tree. While she is weak, she is vulnerable to capture by a predator. Does your community have feral or outside cats?

It's also possible that Houdini might be calcium deficient if she gets most of her food from you. While it is uncommon in wild squirrels, calcium deficiency is a possibility if she depends on your offerings for the bulk of her food. I know this is hard to believe but nuts are actually unhealthy for squirrels if it's the bulk of their diet. They are high in phosphorus and cause calcium to be leeched out of the bones. A squirrel deficient in calcium will get weak in the rear legs to the point of dragging the legs. It's a condition we see often on this board in pet squirrels that are living inside.