PDA

View Full Version : Found Baby Deer - Help!

squarletsmom
05-28-2007, 06:53 PM
I know someone who found a baby deer yesterday.
It was in the middle of a creek/river being attacked by a MINK.
The mink was trying to "drown it and drag it down the river."
They are giving it goat's milk. It's about 3 days old maybe.
I told them I would try to find out some info to help.
There is no known rehabber nearby.
ANY ADVICE??

NaturesGift
05-28-2007, 06:58 PM
um I am not a proffessional but I think if it was being attacked by a mink it may need to be cared for by a vet (attack wounds) I am sure someone will be posting shortly more helpful info. :D Is it a girl or a boy? I raised a Fawn last year that was attacked by wild dogs (the mother was killed by them)

webld4u2
05-28-2007, 07:02 PM
where at in VA are you??? I may be able to help.

squarletsmom
05-28-2007, 07:10 PM
southwestern virginia

thundersquirrel
05-28-2007, 07:13 PM
hold off on the goat's milk! i'm no professional either, but it's better that the baby go hungry for a day or so than be fed the wrong food! i doubt that goat's milk is the correct thing for a fawn.

they need to find a wildlife rehabilitator. it's one thing to raise a squirrel, but a fawn is completely different. if they can't find a rehabber, they need to find a vet. they could at least call a rehabber for help, one that at least lives in virginia.

many rehabbers are willing to drive a long way to pick up an animal. they need professional, or at least highly experienced, advice.

http://www.tc.umn.edu/~devo0028/contactN.htm#va

squarletsmom
05-28-2007, 07:19 PM
I am trying to talk them into contacting a rehabber.
It is going to the bathroom on its own (that's all I know).

Buddy'sMom
05-28-2007, 07:28 PM
thundersquirrel/webld4u2 - does a 3 day old fawn need supplemental heat?

TexanSquirrel
05-28-2007, 07:29 PM
Hang in there, baby deer!

squirrelfriend
05-28-2007, 08:18 PM