PDA

View Full Version : New to TSB! Searching for a baby!

Sbentley
08-06-2015, 12:01 PM
I am new to the world of squirrels but not a beginner in rehabbing and loving fur babies! I have been using a lot of great information from here unfortunately I lost my first baby last night. I got my little girl ground squirrel after she was found in very bad shape by a friend. She had some kind of back trauma as she dragged her back legs. We took her in, for her warm, fed and comfortable. Within 2 weeks her legs were working again, though she was never 100%. She was big enough that she did not need formula. I was given a food mix by a rehabber that has 3 of her own and has had squirrels since she was a little girl. She had always had sniffles so we took her to the vet where she was started on baytril. She responded well but after a month I noticed her beginning to sniffle again. The vet wouldn't refill without seeing her again. So we took her to another vet that had a little more experience with wildlife. She snapped an X-ray which unfortunately showed fluid and badly pneumatic lungs. We opted to try another round of baytril and oxygen therapy. She seemed to be turning around.... She was eating willingly, maintaining body temp, would have spurts of energy between her long slumbering. She fought for a week before passing last night. Not sure why she turned as she was alert and eating, pottying, responsive, warm during the day.
I am absolutely heartbroken! I didn't know squirrels could be so loving and fun! I worked for 10 years in veterinary hospitals nursing puppies, kittens, bunnies, birds, even an owl. I know most of the squirrels on here are rescue/rehabs turned pets for whatever reason. I would absolutely love to find a baby ground squirrel to adopt! I'm on the look out here in Nevada/California but most things I'm finding here are just "pest control" needs.

CritterMom
08-06-2015, 01:02 PM