PDA

View Full Version : I have a few questions... Help needed!!

Elise
05-01-2015, 10:28 PM
I am new to the squirrel board. This is my first post.

A few questions about my baby I'd like to see if someone could help me with:

1. What is the gender of this baby?

2. What type of squirrel is this? I think it's a fox squirrel but I'm not sure.

3. I've had this Baby for 4 days and have been following all advise found on this board. Does this baby look healthy?

Is this baby underweight? I think she is about 2 weeks old and she weights 22.3 grams.

I would really appreciate anyone's help with my questions.

Thank you.

Monipenny
05-01-2015, 10:41 PM
Welcome. She looks like a girl to me. I can't tell what kind of squirrel she is though. Her weight looks good for her size, just watch for bloating belly.

Elise
05-01-2015, 10:44 PM
Thank you so much. I thought she looked like a girl but wasn't 100% sure. Thank you.

SammysMom
05-02-2015, 01:06 AM
Welcome! She looks happy and healthy from pics, but can you tell us what, how much and how often you are feeding? She is on low heat that is under half of her container?

Elise
05-02-2015, 11:29 AM
I am feeding her the goats milk/full fat vanilla yogurt/ heavy cream mix until her Fox Valley 32/40 arrives in a few days.

I feed her every 2-3 hours (including during the night) 5% of her body weight. I've been giving her distilled water between feedings as she is still a little dehydrated.

She is on low heat under half of her container.

Spanky
05-02-2015, 11:46 AM
I know a lot of members are avoiding the FV 32/40 until they are 4 weeks or older and using the Esbilac powder. Even then many have converted to using 50/50 of the FV and Esbilac.

Hopefully others will weigh in but if you do go to the FV, just keep a good eye on her for bloating or diarrhea issues....

Elise
05-02-2015, 12:01 PM