PDA

View Full Version : seizure in 3 month old gray squirrel

cdamico
05-15-2007, 01:43 PM
Please help. I have been raising 4 orphaned baby gray squirrels for the last 2 months. Today one began having tonic/clonic type seizues lasting on and off for 3o minutes. His litter mates are fine..or the worst is yet to come No known injury, no dietary changes. HELP! Thanks, Cheryl

rippie-n-lilgirlsmom
05-15-2007, 02:01 PM
How did you acquire them did they happen to fall from their nest? What is their diet, what have you fed them until this point?

rippie-n-lilgirlsmom
05-15-2007, 02:15 PM
Keep the baby in the dark, warm and quiet. This could be a case of low blood sugar, try karo syrup, maple syrup, and or pedialyte.

Or this could be a case of head trauma because of a fall from the nest.
Or fever, infection or genetic or low blood calcium which is why I asked about the diet. Give the syrup a try first.

squirrelfriend
05-15-2007, 04:54 PM
How old are the babies? once they are weaned they need to get their calcium from other sources. A full spectrum light is VERY important. Buy one from a place that specializes in reptiles. They are usually more knowledgeable when it comes to these. Keep the squirrel calm and stress free.

willydugas
05-15-2007, 07:52 PM
Please help. I have been raising 4 orphaned baby gray squirrels for the last 2 months. Today one began having tonic/clonic type seizues lasting on and off for 3o minutes. His litter mates are fine..or the worst is yet to come No known injury, no dietary changes. HELP! Thanks, Cheryl Please listen to me IT IS LOW CALCIUM, I know because I went though the same thing . Give them their their FORMULA. tHEN GIVE THEM CRASHED CALCIUM ANTACID TABLETS IN THEIR FORMULA FOR A FEW DAYS. BUT THE fORMULA MAY BE ENOUGH.I saved my little Joey that way.I did not save his sister ,because I found out about that too late.THEY NEED CALCIUM!!!!!!!!!! WILLIE DUGAS:wave123

willydugas
05-15-2007, 07:54 PM