PDA

View Full Version : Wild Bunny Help, Please

skwerls_R_soft
05-08-2007, 05:46 PM
DH found this juvenile bunny in the yard just now. It appears to have 3 major wounds. The two on her side look as if the skin has been peeled off. The wound on her head looks like a puncture. She is too calm and probably in shock. I have her in a large plastic tub with a towel with a screen on top the tub in a quiet indoor spot right now.

I have a few years of Vet Tech experience and have handled pet rabbits, but know little about injured wild rabbits. I do know that they are fragile little things and can injure themselves trying to escape captivity. I would imagine that less stress is important.

I'd like to find a rehabber in the MD/DE area for her.Can someone assist me in finding one?
Meanwhile, can anyone recommend anything I should be doing for this bunny?

Gabe
05-08-2007, 05:52 PM
Clean with water, apply antibiotic ointment. Put the bunny in a dark, quiet area away from the scent and sounds of humans and pets. Pull a handful of greens from an untreated lawn and check the forum here that lists rehabbers by state.

Gabe
05-08-2007, 05:53 PM
P.S. Assemble everything you will need and work efficiently and quickly. Should not be alot of talking or handling.

skwerls_R_soft
05-08-2007, 05:56 PM
Gabe,
Thanks! I was in the process of picking thru my pet triage kit just a minute ago.
Will do.

The rehabbers on th eMD/DE list are all defunct. I have tried them all in the past. I do have an idea though....I think there may be someone new nearby and I need to run up to the Post Office to see if her ad is still there.

Will update in an hour or so.

skwerls_R_soft
05-08-2007, 05:59 PM
Gabe, is Chlorhexiderm (Chlorhexidine...for dogs and cats...the blue stuff) safe to flush a bunny wound? Or should I stick with water??

Gabe
05-08-2007, 06:06 PM