PDA

View Full Version : Squirrel won't move for hours at a time

slyr114
05-07-2014, 12:43 PM
Ok so there is a squirrel that comes around our backyard every single day and just picks a spot to sit. He lays there for hours at a time and seems to be sick or has something wrong with him. I don't have much experience and do not want to get close to him in case something is really wrong with him. What should I do about this? I took pictures from today and yesterday. He just sits with his head to the ground or on some surface most of the time. I tried to give him some peanuts to see how he reacted, the peanuts are still there and he didnt even acknowledge me or them. https://www.dropbox.com/s/3fk8mehvd8ne5tu/DSC_0007.JPG and https://www.dropbox.com/s/s539eymbbxy86bq/DSC_0005.JPG I have little experience with squirrels but him just laying there, absent minded, cant be normal right?

stepnstone
05-07-2014, 12:57 PM
No the posture is not normal, he's sick and needs help.
I'm going to move this to life threatening to hopefully get more exposure.

slyr114
05-07-2014, 01:01 PM
No the posture is not normal, he's sick and needs help.
I'm going to move this to life threatening to hopefully get more exposure.
Thanks for the confirmation, is there someone I should call next time I see him? I have no experience at all with squirrels and was hoping someone could let me know what the best course of action is.

Scooterzmom
05-07-2014, 01:02 PM
I cannot be sure because the picture is not quite clear but it appears that this little fellow's coat is in very bad shape, or that he has bumps all over. If he does have bumps all over, then he might have pox, and would appear quite advanced from the little that I see.

Pox is fatal in over 50% of the cases; those who did pull through are those who were rescued early enough before the disease could progress to the internal organs. This baby needs help, FAST…!!! wether it is pox or not. That posture is not normal, it shows he's in distress.