PDA

View Full Version : PIP

Mama Michele
03-22-2014, 12:54 AM
I am a school bus driver and one morning as my kids were loading the bus one girl said " Michele, I have something for you... She pulled open her sleeve cuff and there laid a baby squirrel she had found the night before." I am not new to taking care of animals in distress but I have never had a viable squirrel before. I am needing some support in caring for this baby. I did re-warm and pedilight for 24hr. I have been feeding diluted esbilac for 24hrs and we are up to full strength now. Am I doing this right? Suggestions?
:thankyou

farrelli
03-22-2014, 01:02 AM
Sounds good so far. :thumbsup

I'll post some threads for basic care in a sec.

farrelli
03-22-2014, 01:07 AM
http://thesquirrelboard.com/forums/showthread.php?36777-PROPER-FEEDING-TECHNIQUE!!

http://thesquirrelboard.com/forums/showthread.php?11782-I-FOUND-A-BABY-SQUIRREL-NOW-WHAT

I'd post an alternative to Esbilac, but the new version is good, as long as the label says that it has probiotics.

You are using a 1cc syringe to feed, are stimulating to poop/pee, and are keeping it on a heat source with a cool side to move to if too hot, right?

And how much are you feeding and on what schedule? 5-7% of body weight is the norm, but the schedule is based on age. How old? Can you post a pic? If you don;t have a kitchen scale to weigh, you should get one. They're about $20.

Finally, this is the nipple everyone's raving about. You can get it at a few places now:

http://www.henryspets.com/miracle-nipple/

farrelli
03-22-2014, 01:19 AM
Btw, stop the Pedialyte after 24hrs as teh salt becoems a problem. Just go with;

3 Tbsp sugar (tablespoon)
1 quart warm water
Mix all ingredients in warm water. Store in refrigerator.

Between feedings if you feel he is still a bit dehydrated.

stepnstone
03-22-2014, 01:31 AM
:Welcomeand :thankyoufor taking in this baby...
Any idea of age?
Eyes open yet, got fur, fuzz??
Can you try and post a picture?

Mama Michele