PDA

View Full Version : HELP CHIPMUNK FOUND IN CATS MOUTH

Cwinkler340
06-19-2013, 01:32 PM
Hi all, my neighbor cat was playing with a chipmunk in the front yard, I carefully picked up the chipmunk and put it in my emergency cage I keep around for such occasions. He has no outward signs of injury (cuts). During the first hour there was little hope, she appeared to be in shock, breathing decreased significantly, little movement, eyes glazed and kind of rolled back. She however pulled through the night.

Her current status is much different, complete movement of head and legs, however there is no balance or coordination, cant walk (simply falls to where ever she is trying to get to) appears to be in a complete state of confusion (bobs head uncontrollably when not covered by cloth). Also sleeps on and off all day (cage was covered at night). Not scared at all of human touch.

BUT is eating very well!

I am not a chipmunk expert, just trying to help. The nearest vet willing to work on a chipmunk is an 1 1/2 hours away and I wont throw her outside in her current condition (might as well give her to the cat).

She is being kept in a medium size cage, towels on the floor, water in a ball jar lid,in a warm quite location. she uses a wash cloth to huddle under.

She is rather dark so i'm assuming she is young. (also no signs of testicles so assuming its a female)

I would like to know what I can do to ease her possible discomfort, what I should be feeding her, how long I should hold on to her

Thank you in advance everyone!

cnmnnaturalist
06-19-2013, 01:56 PM
The Chipmunk needs IMMEDIATE antibiotics. Cat saliva is lethal in itself to a wild animal, even if there are no wounds. Baytril or Cipro are best for this.

It sounds as if it has some sort of head or spinal trauma.

Cwinkler340
06-19-2013, 01:58 PM
Where would i be able to get a hold of them, how would i administer

Cwinkler340
06-19-2013, 02:03 PM