PDA

View Full Version : A Squirrel Friend

LittleBird64
12-18-2012, 10:28 AM
I unfortunately, don't have the luxury of having a squirrel as a pet like most of you do. I wish I did because I've always thought they were simply adorable! But I do have a few squirrel friends at work who I interact with and my day just wouldn't be complete without seeing my little friends.

I'm a registered nurse and work at a desk job in a hospital. My office has a big picture window that looks out onto a little courtyard area full of ivy, shrubs, and trees. Back several months ago, I decided to hang a bird feeder outside my window because I always did like watching the birds. But the birds weren't the only ones who showed up. I now have four regular squirrels who live outside my window- The Peanuts Gang- and I feed them regularly. Charlie was the first one to show up and impress us with his acrobatics of hanging upside down to eat from the bird feeder. Then Sally was next. She's sort of the boss of the place. Schroeder came next and he doesn't seem all that friendly and I think he's an older squirrel. He's bigger than the others and just looks old, with a lot more gray around his face. Then came little Linus who turned out to a be a Lucy. She's the baby of the bunch. I don't know how to judge squirrels ages, but she was pretty young and much smaller than the others. She has since grown up and is almost the same size as Sally, but Lucy has a black nose and that's how I can tell them apart. Sally and Charlie are the most used to me and don't run away when they see me. In fact, Sally greets me every morning when I get to the office by standing up and looking at me through the window and looks as if she's smiling. LOL