PDA

View Full Version : Hi I'm new to this lol

bchappell
09-10-2012, 03:12 PM
Hey I'm new to raising squirrels but I have raised some wild rabbits and a few kittens before and I have a couple of questions. About a week ago it stormed really hard and a nest fell out of a tree at my front door. I watched it all day and didn't see the mother approach it once and it was getting dark so I looked inside of it and found a 4 inch long grey squirrel and took it inside and wrapped it in a towel and put it on a heating pad. I've been feeding it esbilac and it's been going ok and everything and three days ago it opened its eyes and its been crawling around but its been making a really weird grunting sound and sneezing alot so I was wondering if that was normal? And he whines alot like how a dog begs for something and I was just wondering if all this was normal lol. And I was wondering if he had pneumonia how long would it take to set in?

Milo's Mom
09-10-2012, 03:25 PM
Hi and welcome to TSB. Thank you for saving the little one.

Do me a small favor and hold his chest up to your ear and listen to his breathing. Is he making a clicking noise with EVERY inhale and exhale?

Squirrels make all kinds of noises and some of them even sound like clicks, but the "pneumonia clicking" is with EVERY inhale and exhale.

Leave us know what you hear.

Also, do you have any sort of bedding in his cage? If so, what kind?

bchappell
09-10-2012, 04:36 PM
I've checked for clicking and no he's not doing it. Some people in my house smoke could that be it? And I just have some old towels and a tiny stuffed animal that he sleeps with since he was the only one I found. And what about the whining noise? Its actually more like barking lol

bchappell
09-10-2012, 07:16 PM
What kind of treat would I give a 5 week squirrel to munch on?

daniellenc
09-10-2012, 07:39 PM