PDA

View Full Version : Everything you need to know (basics)

Mochi&Mocha
08-31-2012, 01:32 PM
My Mom's coworker found a baby squirrel last week and she asked if I would compile some information on squirrels for him. He's doing everything wrong from what she tells me. I know the basics but I figured you guys are probably better at explaining things to other people. My Mom doesn't know how old the baby is but she does know his/her eyes are open. Information on food all the way to cage size would be really helpful. I'm trying to compile a packet for him.

Crystalis178
08-31-2012, 02:51 PM
Yes! This is a very good idea. All information should include everything specific to use and what not to use. There is so much good information on this board but it isn't all filtered and compiled into one very useful thread (At least not one I've found on here yet). I'm a newbie at this otherwise I would offer some tips. Things such as Do's and Don'ts for cages, feeding, formula mixing, brands to seek/avoid, importance of knowing and keeping track of their weight, early signs of trouble (clicks, etc), how long they should be sleeping at their age, etc. This thread should also be stickied so it isn't lost.

While I didn't mind it, it was a pain to go out several times to get different supplies because instructions on what to get my squirrel weren't specific enough. Knowing everything one should get from the start is important.

Mochi&Mocha
08-31-2012, 03:37 PM
I agree! It would be very nice to have a compiled thread of the basics :) Especially for newbies.

SammysMom
08-31-2012, 04:13 PM
I am working on it now. It may take a little while...

Mochi&Mocha
08-31-2012, 04:15 PM
I am working on it now. It may take a little while...

That's okay! Thank you so much!

SammysMom
08-31-2012, 04:40 PM
Baby Squirrel Information

1) Is the baby uninjured? Is mom still around? and if so, warm the baby and place in a safe spot where mom can reunite if possible. Mom will not take a cold baby!