View Full Version : What is it?

MissDolittle
01-29-2007, 10:17 PM
Hello Everybody, Happy New Year and all that too! Has been a while!!! How ya'll
doing? :jump

Now the year started early for me, got me a 'pink think' today and I can't make
up my mind. Is it a squirrel or an opossum? Logic tells me that there are no
baby squirrels in January, but logic also told me that there can't be a tornado
outbreak in December followed by an icestorm in Texas either, so I figured I get
a few more opinions here :D :

http://www.amazes.us/album/albums/userpics/10001/normal_pinkthing.jpg

Baby seems to have had a run in with a cat, so I started him on electrolytes and
amox, regardless of what it is.

Somebody's Mother
01-29-2007, 10:25 PM
i'm no expert but after googling opossum babies i think that is a squirrel. the jaw is too square for an opossum.

Somebody's Mother
01-29-2007, 10:42 PM

i think that's it

Mars
01-29-2007, 10:43 PM
You are holding a baby squirrel. Appear to be a grey, perhaps a western grey. How much does does the little darling weigh?

Somebody's Mother
01-29-2007, 11:33 PM
seems miss doolittle wandered off on us. :dono

MissDolittle
01-29-2007, 11:50 PM
You are holding a baby squirrel. Appear to be a grey, perhaps a western grey. How much does does the little darling weigh?

I'm still not convinced. Where would a grey squirrel come from? All we have
is fox squirrels here. The time of year doesn't fit either. Also, my digital scale
broke, can't weigh him.

Here are a couple of more pics:

http://www.amazes.us/album/albums/userpics/10001/normal_pinkthing1.jpg

http://www.amazes.us/album/albums/userpics/10001/normal_pinkthing2.jpg

Mars
01-30-2007, 12:02 AM
Trust me. :) what you are holder is a baby grey squirrel. I went looking for their range and though rare they do each into eastern Texas. Check out my pictures from rehab last year I include several pictures of greys at about the same age. (2 to 3 weeks)

http://outdoors.webshots.com/album/553978418RVrTYc