PDA

View Full Version : feeding rodent breeder to wilds?

catmom5
05-31-2012, 08:29 AM
Since I have many squirrels who come to eat, and after learning that there is something better for them than sunflower seeds and peanuts, I am ordering or buying the Mazuri Rodent Breeder pieces today. My question is how do you feed them? How much? Do you just put on the ground or create some kind of feeder for just those?

Sorry to sound like such a "dumbie" but I'm new to all of this (not feeding them, but how to take care of them properly).

I got my "mangey" boy to take a walnut with the paste yesterday, so am a bit concerned about the liver issue (but put just a tiny bit the size of a grain of rice) but needed to do something for him. So if I can improve their nutrition, I am definitely going to to do that.

Thanks for your help.

Sweet Simon's Mommy
05-31-2012, 08:47 AM
Hi :wave123
I think it is great you want whats good for them, but in my experience they wont touch them. Others have covered them with peanut butter and baked them .

Because they are in the wild and not a cage, they know what they need for good nutrition, so what I do is give the "better" treats like walnuts , hazelnuts, almonds, when I run out of them I always have roasted but not salted peanuts.:D :D :D

CritterMom
05-31-2012, 09:04 AM
I am the rat blocks for wilds person here. This is exactly what I do: