PDA

View Full Version : New and need help! :)

corear1014
05-23-2012, 10:32 AM
Hello,

I am new to the squirrel community. About 5 ½ weeks ago we found a baby squirrel (Eastern Grey) in our yard. My neighbor had all of their trees cut down (about 20) and thought maybe that’s where she came from. I looked in our trees for a nest or other siblings and didn’t see any. It was getting dark and she started following me around. My neighbor’s also have a cat and I knew if I left her outside she would have become dinner. I decided to put her in our dog crate and called my Vet to see what I needed to do. We went to Petsmart and bought Kitten formula. I dropper fed her for about 2 wks until she no longer seemed interested. Also, bought a ferret cage (which is by a window) to give her room to play. She has been doing great, playing, eating ,etc. I thought I had done enough research on what to feed, etc. Just wanted to say , that I am SO glad I found this website.

Yesterday, I had her out of the cage playing with her (which she LOVES to do.. PLAY! LOL!). I left for a moment to let my dogs in from outside , which I’ve done in the past. She’ll play on top of her cage and jump to my office chair. When I came back in , she seemed startled (shaking) .. She calmed down and started playing again, but she kept licking her hand and I noticed her arm and hand twitching. She was acting fine, continued playing and I fed her some sunflower seeds (Which I know now are no no’s!).. After she ate them, she started having a seizure. Scared me to death! She has never done that before and I thought maybe it was from her being startled. I called my vet and a local person that rehab squirrels, also got online which led me to this website ( Thank goodness).. I read about the MBD and realized I was not doing things the correct way. I would hate to be the cause of this!

She is acting like her old self again - very active.. Spunky and playful.

Things I did prior to this website: