PDA

View Full Version : 14 month old squirrel

squirrelbaby1966
05-16-2012, 09:30 AM
Hello...I have a 14 month old squirrel that fell last week :( He can't move his back legs. He doesn't seem like he's in any pain, at first I thought that it was MBD but now, I think that he is paralyzed. I changed his diet and started giving him calcium but he hasn't gotten any better. He is alert and seems ok other than not being able to move his back legs.. Any suggestions on how to keep him happy?

jo_schmoe
05-16-2012, 09:35 AM
Hello and welcome!
Much more info is needed in order to help you.
What is his diet? How far was the fall? What sort of calcium are you using? are you noticing any bloating since he has been paralyzed??

People with more knowledge will be here soon.....just hang in there.
:thinking wondering if this shouldn't be in the ER section.....

squirrelbaby1966
05-16-2012, 09:38 AM
thank you :) I really wasn't sure where to post it cause it's my very first time

Sweet Simon's Mommy
05-16-2012, 09:39 AM
I am going to post this in Em so it will get more attention

Nancy in New York
05-16-2012, 09:44 AM
I am going to post this in Em so it will get more attention

Sweet Simon's Mommy, thank you for posting the link in the emergency section. I moved this whole thread to get more attention, and deleted your alert. Thank you...:bowdown

squirrelbaby1966
05-16-2012, 09:48 AM
thank you so much ...It's much appreciated....I am giving him 800 mg tums, and I switched him to fruits and veggies...NO MORE snacks!! He is not bloating, he is peeing and pooping, and bathe him several times a day so he doesn't get urine scold

Sweet Simon's Mommy
05-16-2012, 09:51 AM
ok I see what you did Thank you!!

First please answer some questions so we can help you.

Is this an inside squirrel or an outside wild squirrel?
If inside does she have issuses as to why you kept her?
What is the the diet??
How far did she fall on onto what?