PDA

View Full Version : My 5 week old baby suddenly has a leg issue!?

SmartySquirrel80
03-19-2012, 08:38 AM
I have been rehabbing squirrels for 9 years and have had about a 90% success rate. However i have ran into some trouble with the little guy i have now. Ive had him for about two weeks now and everything has been great! He eats very well, is responsive to touch & sound, and his eyes are about to open any day now.

BUT, i fed him last night around 12 midnight and everything was good as usual, when i woke up this morning to feed him again, his left leg wasnt working and he was crying in pain when i touched it! He still ate like a champ and went pee & poop as normal. All his other limbs and tail have mobility and have no pain. He is kept in a very deep well padded small box in a safe dark area of my bedroom. There is no way he can fall out or injure himself. He hasnt developed his "jumping legs" (as i call them) yet and for as long as i had him has never even tried to climb out of his box. So i cant understand how something like that can happen within 5 hours!

He seems to cry & respond to pain more when i touch around the hip or knee area. Is there a way i can tell the difference if his leg is broken or dislocated? My vet said they cant x-ray him because he is a wild animal & the rehabber said if its a hip or knee problem they wont be able to splint it anyway. Out of all the squirrels i have raised in my 9 years i have never had a problem like this so it is new to me, i usually know how to heal or fix any squirrel aliment.