PDA

View Full Version : New here with questions

blessedbeingmom
03-18-2012, 10:25 PM
Hello, my name is Tricia, I am married to Matt and we have 3 children (boy 8, girl 10, girl 12). I am a pharmacist & Matt is a stay-at-home, homeschooling father.

Our baby squirrel was first found Friday March 16th in the afternoon. She was trying to cross the road in front of our house, when a car passed by & saw her & could have run over her. The driver of the car was trying to shoo the baby squirrel away. My DH was in the side yard (our wooded part) & came to see what it was. He found the squirrel & put it in a box, so mom & girls could have a chance to see it later. Around 7:45pm, mom & girls came home from Bible study, and were shown the baby squirrel. We decided to leave it in the box overnight.

Saturday morning, dad & kids tried to let the baby squirrel go. They put her on the ground but she kept crawling after them. They tried putting her on a low tree branch, but she decided to run up Elizabeth’s arm instead. We gave her a little lid with a tiny bit of water and put it back in the box. I called a friend who has raised squirrels before and got advice that the squirrel still needed milk & we should get puppy milk & after my description (eyes open, about 4-5” long not including tail) that it was probably 5 to 6 weeks old. She also advised that we should get rodent block (rat & mouse food). I asked about guinea pig food (as we have 3 guinea pigs) but she advised that it would not be good for the squirrel as she needed something harder for her teeth.

I found several helpful pages on the internet & spent an hour or so reading about care of squirrels. I also determined that our squirrel weighed 80 grams & had its bottom two teeth & top two are just beginning to come in (barely).