PDA

View Full Version : Glad to be here

ksmith
03-02-2012, 11:13 PM
I'm very excited to have found this board, I'm going to try not to write a book as it's way past my bed time. My fiance works as a tree trimmer Tues am they cut a tree down and a nest of baby squirrels in it momma took off and would not return for her babies, they fell about 40 feet. We have no rehabers here so I am going to do it. I have been taking care of them since Tues afternoon. He didn't see the mother but I'm assuming they are grey's.

From looking online I believe they are around a week old, years ago I was a vet tech and I have raised puppies but they were all tube feed. I'm in love with the little guys so far they seem to be doing ok, I'm a nervous mother.

I'm feeding them kitten formula as that is what I was told to do, they are eating about 1cc to 1.5 cc each except one of the females who will only eat .5cc she seems to have trouble and stop eating. I'm gonna to order a better formula. Everyone seems to be going to the bathroom well, they do have large tummy's but not hard. I'm using a rice bag under a towel right now to keep them warm and feeding every 4 hrs.

Tomorrow I'm going to weight them and I think mark them with a marker so I can tell them apart. I have 3 females and a male.

I think that's all the important stuff. I'm very happy to have found all of this info. I also have 3 dogs, 2 prairie dogs and a bunch of fish.

Glad to be here.

Sweet Simon's Mommy
03-02-2012, 11:26 PM
WELL...Hello and welcome!!

Did you make sure you hydrated them first?
They must be warm in order to digest the food, try to get a heating pad that does not turn off and leave it on low placed under half of the container they are in.

First off No Kitten formula, you need to order some fox valley
@ http://henryspets.com/
In the mean time give them goats milk

3 parts goat’s milk
1 part heavy whipping cream*
1 part vanilla yogurt

Are you using a 1cc syringe with a silicone nipple?