PDA

View Full Version : help

Roky's mom
11-30-2011, 04:36 PM
found a adult squirrel she fell out of the tree looks like she has a hurt eye can not climb back in tree she fell out of we think she may have babys in the tree not sure what to do

cam
11-30-2011, 04:46 PM
I am certainly no expert, but if she seems hurt, then you could try and catch her and take a look (through bars of a cage as she may well bite!) keep her inside for like 24 hours to keep an eye on her. as for any babies that may be in the tree, i am not sure, you could leave them there for a while and make sure they are not another squirrels babies

like i say, i'm no expert, but hopefully a more experienced member can help you soon

astra
11-30-2011, 04:46 PM
found a adult squirrel she fell out of the tree looks like she has a hurt eye can not climb back in tree she fell out of we think she may have babys in the tree not sure what to do
if she fell out and cannot climb, it could mean she sustained a head injury. Whether it's permanent or temporary will be seen in time.

Does she have nipples?... if you can see nipples, then, most likely, she has babies in there. Would you be able to get them?... is there a way to contact a tree trimmer or, maybe, fire department and ask them to help? (i know, it might sound too far-fetched, but that's what I'd try to do if I could not get to the nest myself). Or, maybe, some friends/neighbors who could help?

But if she does not have nipples, then, there should not be babies.

EDIT:
definitely, try to keep her inside because if she can't climb, she will end up being someone's food.
Keep her dark, warm and quiet.
If you can't reach the nest yet, observe it tomorrow: if it is another squirrel's nest, you will see a squirrel going in and out of it.
If no one goes in and out of the nest, then, maybe, it is her nest.
Do keep looking for ways to get to that nest if she has nipples.
Watch for babies that might venture out looking for their mom.

Keep posting updates.