PDA

View Full Version : new here

lorraine
10-30-2011, 11:46 AM
Hi. I am new to this thread and am looking for some advice. I just released a 14 week old squirrel and was wondering if anyone here had any information on it. He was given a "soft" release, spending a month in a large cage on my screened in porch up against the screen so he could see out into our yard. After doing that for 2 weeks I opened his cage door and he came and went for another 3 weeks. He stopped sleeping in his nesting box after a few days of freedom but came and went all day for his food and water. He also spent the two weeks burying nuts all over the place. He was very friendly and would come down from the trees when I called him. We really loved him very much and now we havent seen him for four days straight. There are other squirrels out in the yard so I am thinking this is a territorial issue. Wull he ever come back or is he gone for good? I miss him alot. Thanks.

Milo's Mom
10-30-2011, 01:26 PM
Hi and welcome to TSB. Your little one is out exploring his new huge world....he's being a squirrel, just like you so carefully raised him to be. :thumbsup :Love_Icon