View Full Version : skin problems and can't sit up

swatts007
12-12-2006, 09:59 PM
Hi
new here and trying to find help
I have a gray, shes around 25 weeks or so

I still have her cause she has seziures, per my vet I should keep her longer
this is fine with me but I have a new problem
when she eats any food she can't sit up on her back feet. she kinda lays foward using her front feet.
she has also started to get a skin rash, it looks like brown dirt. it wipes out. but I have noticed that she is scratching more.
this is my first year working with squirrels, so far I have had 15 in this year.
I have been rehabing for 15 years.
I really hope that someone can offer any help. I really feel lost on working with squirrels, but like and rehaber I will try my best.

DubShack
12-12-2006, 11:36 PM
Hey Swatts, welcome to TSB!
Can you iluminate us on her diet at all? Is it just when she eats that she can't sit on her back legs, or does she have any trouble walking at all?

DubShack
12-12-2006, 11:40 PM
Does it look anything like this?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PwB2zJIl-8Q&eurl=

(guess what you're describing just reminded me of that)

squirrelfriend
12-13-2006, 05:56 AM
Does it look anything like this?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PwB2zJIl-8Q&eurl=

(guess what you're describing just reminded me of that)

Dubshack, are you sure that wasn't a head injury or braindamage of some sort or was the leg hanging at all. I have two sort of like that. I am suspecting head trauma for both. also of the two I have like that one is half blind and the other is fully blind.