PDA

View Full Version : Snickers is gone :(

Shawnsmommy19
03-24-2011, 10:31 PM
:shakehead Not sure where to post this but here goes.... I have been raising a baby named snickers for almost 6 months now.For the past week we have been doing a soft release with him well tonight i decided to open the cage and let him explore.. I have also done this for the past several days but he always returns to his cage at night. Well tonight snickers didnt return. Just wondering if this is normal or not. I thought it would make me happy to see him return to the wild. But i didnt realize it would break my heart so much.... I have been walking around outside for the past 3 hours calling his name and doing our sound and he hasnt returned. Im just wondering if something could have happened to him or what. I have his cage under a oak tree in the front yard but not many squirrels come in our yard cause of our dogs bark at them. Anyways sorry for the rambling i just miss him. Should i move his cage to the last place i saw him go to or just leave it alone??

asweetdiversion
03-24-2011, 10:56 PM
I'm feel'n your pain Shawnsmommy19. When I did my soft release last October, the first night that one of them did not return to their cage, I actually drove up and down the street, stopping my car in the middle of the road and getting out to inspect every piece of trash, sock, kids toy, and a large half smoked cigar, and a half eaten McDonald's cheeseburger in the road fearing the worst. After a WEEK ,finally, Squirrelett came back and was as healthy and happy as could be. I'm sure Snicker's is off, having fun and making squirrel buddies after realizing his new-found-freedom. They long to be in the trees and doing all the squirrel things that squirrels do and you have every right to worry but I'd bet anything, he's building a nest or at the local squirrel night-club living it up and walking around somewhere flirting with other young squirrels, get some sleep and you will see him again soon.
Hugs.