PDA

View Full Version : Almost release time!

thomasnchy
03-08-2011, 02:42 PM
I've been using this board for the past 4 months or so, ever since a co-worker brought me a baby squirrel. He was only about 3 weeks old (as far as I can tell), eyes shut and barely any fur at all. I've followed your diet advice, and everything else related to raising a baby squirrel, and he is doing GREAT! So, thank you all for the help you have given me.
It's almost time to let the little guy go. Even though I'm a big-tough manly-man type and all.. well it's going to be tough. After waking up 2-3 times a night and feeding him, to now getting home and giving him his "yogie" treat, well I just might have grown a little spot in my heart for the little bugger. But, I know releasing him is the best for him. He has become aggressive towards strangers (as expected) and I can tell that it's the right time, he has been nesting in the log I placed in his cage ever since he was old enough to leave the heating pad, and appears to be in great health... doing all the things a squirrel is supposed to do.
Unfortunatley, the only tree in my yard isn't big enough to support a squirrel. And there are no other squirrels nearby. So I have to take him out to work where there are plenty of habitats for him.
Wish him luck!
And thanks again for all the help!

pappy1264
03-08-2011, 03:05 PM
Will you be able to continue to feed him every day there, at least for a while? Since he is older and wintered over, he has come to rely on you for everything and he will need you for a while after release to assure he is making it ok. Has he been outside all this time in a cage?

thomasnchy
03-08-2011, 03:32 PM