PDA

View Full Version : First-Time Squirreler

Jester
02-07-2011, 06:08 PM
Hi my names Danielle,

I'm a grad student in New Jersey. I have an 8-week old flying squirrel named Jester which Ive had for about a week now. I named him Jester cause he reminded me of a goofy little acrobat. I've always loved pets, I've raised several rabbits, 3 guinea pigs, several exotic frogs, and I've currently got 2 snakes and 2 dogs in addition to Jester. He's definitely a new experience. I'd wanted one for a while and it took me a long time to find a place within a semi-reasonable distance to get one. It was well worth the drive though, the moment the owner dropped him on me and he began running around on me I instantly fell in love with the little guy. I'm still trying figure out his preferences and things in general that he wants or needs. I've followed every care sheet I could find extra closely but additional information regarding raising pet flying squirrels is pretty limited.. such as how to respond to certain behaviors and what behavior is normal for a flying squirrel. I thought at least here I'd be able to find any information or help if I needed it. I really want to do the best I can for him. I appreciate in advance for any help or advice anyone ends up giving me, and I'm looking forward to becoming a part of this community.

I'll post a picture of him once I figure out how to.. I can't seem to find the go-advanced settings anywhere.. but yeah, hi.

UDoWhat
02-07-2011, 06:47 PM
:Welcome Danielle, TSB is the place to be if you are owned by a squirrel.
Be sure to check out the nutrition threads. Good nutrition = a healthy
squirrel and years of happiness.

Anne
02-07-2011, 06:58 PM