PDA

View Full Version : Site newb....

doomkitty
01-19-2011, 07:06 PM
Hello all.
I am looking for some advise.
I have been researching for a few months now and I'm currently looking into different breeds of squirrels. I'm hoping for the same bond that my sugar gliders offered me when I was younger. I just loved having them sleep in my shirt or bra...yes they slept there...lol. Miss the way they scurried about me using me like a tree, having them "help" me prep their meals...
I have been doing most of my research on the southern flyer but was looking for something slightly bigger.
Is the temperament of the tree squirrels much different then the flyers? Do flyers bond better?
Thank You for your help!!!:)

Lulu2010
01-19-2011, 07:16 PM
Hi! :Welcome I don't have a ton of information to compare them for you (sorry). I have one flyer who I've only had a few weeks and probably will be leaving to a new home soon because I don't know much about their care. I also have a grey squirrel that was just a foster (I foster for a local rehabber) but as it turns out, she may have decided to stay. The grey squirrels (not sure if all other kinds of squirrels are the same) normally wild up on their own--no matter what you try to do to prevent it. They have instincts that kick in and in most cases let you know that they want to be wild. Most of the ones I raised would wild up sometimes starting before 10 weeks old. They also only bond to one person with some rare exceptions. You also have to be extremely careful with their diet because they are prone to getting MBD (metabolic bone disease) if not fed good foods that are high in calcium and low in phosphorous. I would recommend doing research and seeing if there may even be a rehabber that you can foster for. It doesn't pay money, but the experiences are worth it. You learn a lot. Good luck in your venture. I'm sure more people will stop by and give you some more info and advice. :)

lilidukes
01-19-2011, 07:43 PM