PDA

View Full Version : Hi there fellow squirrel lovers -newbie here!

RocketsRehab
08-30-2010, 03:14 PM
Hi, I go by the nickname Rae & I'm glad to have found a place like this!!!

I am currently raising my very first Eastern Grey Squirrel, It's definitely a boy so I named him Rocket after the squirrel in Rocky & Bullwinkle... because 2 weeks before my Aunt found him fallen from his nest outside her work, I was joking with my friends being the absolute squirrel fanatic I am; that IF I ever got a real squirrel (since I collect squirrel stuff) & it was a boy I'd have to name him Rocket (as we watched an episode of Rocky & Bullwinkle on netflix haha) Little did I know; that was a bit of clairvoyance on my part.. bc as I said about 2 weeks later (at the most) my Aunt posted on my FB wall that she had found a baby squirrel, tried to find somewhere to take him but wasn't having much luck, so she couldn't think of anyone better to adopt him than me!! <3

I had to do a lot of research because I never actually thought it was a possibility to raise my very own squirrel.. only a dream of mine!? Boy do I wish I had educated myself before hand, but at least the resources were easy enough to come by!! :) So I did my studying, took notes and quickly become a Squirrel Mommy, complete with panic of possible aspiration, sleepless nights, double researching & being thrown off, until finally I took what I had found to make the most sense & decided I just had to be content with going on that & my natural instincts.. because the more information I was reading the more confused I was at what I should or shouldn't be doing, so I think in the long run that was a good choice; I have been much calmer & not so full of anxiety, I know me being freaked out all the time wasn't good for my little tiny baby squirrel so0 I sucked it up and we've been doing great!!!:wahoo