PDA

View Full Version : I guess it's time...

skunkangel
08-28-2010, 08:12 PM
I've been lurking around for a bit, but I'm finally getting around to posting a hello introduction to everyone. My name is Angel, and I live near St. Louis. I've been rehabbing for a couple of years now and I specialize in skunks for the most part. However, I seem to always have squirrels. I'm not even sure how it happens sometimes but people call, and I give in. :) They're cute little critters so it's impossible to say no. Our fall babies are coming in now and our spring kids are already released back to the wild. It will be October before the fall kids start leaving. In the spring this year the clinic that I work with did a total of 150+ baby greys but our fall is much lighter in numbers. Plus we get the oddball squirrel species in the fall. The flyers, the reds, the fox squirrels. We don't see a lot of anything but the greys so we get very excited to see the other species in the fall.

So let's see, as for me, in my years rehabbing I've worked with baby beavers, groundhogs, squirrels, red foxes, coyotes, raccoons, a badger, bunnies galore, opossums, and of course my beloved skunks. Other than that, I have two teenage boys and most days I'd much prefer dealing with the business end of a skunk than the daily drama of them being teens. I recently got a job with the Humane Society here working in their offices (bcz rehab isn't exactly well known for it's stellar salary) and I'm hoping that helps with the formula costs for next year before babies start arriving again.