PDA

View Full Version : Advice Please

SandraH
11-05-2006, 03:13 AM
My best friends son found a baby flying squirrel at their back door last Sunday morning. Her kids wanted to do nothing but play with it so I brought it home with me to try and take care of it. He is doing relatively well right now but I am not sure I giving him the proper nurishment he needs. Right now I have him on a solution of 50% water and 50% evaporated milk along with a little bit of all natural apple sauce. He has a nice round belly now which I hope is a good sign and is active about an hour a day. I feed him about every four hours (yes I take him to work with me). I am estimating him to be about four weeks old. He is covered in fur but his teeth are barely peeking in.

This is my first time rehabing any type of animal let alone something this small so any advice is greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Somebody's Mother
11-05-2006, 04:11 AM
first thing if at all possible go to your local petsmart and buy ebsilac puppy formula for him. mix it one part formula to two parts water. this has all the essential nutrients for raising a baby squirrel. plus they seem to like it. use a syringe to feed the little one. less chance of aspirating formula than with a bottle. make sure and put some bedding in. old t-shirts are great. and put a heating pad under one side of the cage. that way the little one can determine if they need it or not.
i forgot to ask, is he pooing and peeing normally?
thanks for coming to the rescue. there is plenty of good advice to be had on here. also if you can, post some pics. we are all squirrel nuts!:D
many a squirrel has been rehabbed through this board.

Somebody's Mother
11-05-2006, 04:12 AM
http://thesquirrelboard.com/forums/showthread.php?t=255

this link should be very helpful!!

GhosTS
11-05-2006, 05:45 AM
SandraH, First of all :Welcome to TSB and :thankyou for taking care of the flyer.