PDA

View Full Version : I need help!

XxbRyTTxX
08-01-2010, 07:09 PM
I have a baby squirrel which weighs 58g and is about 5 weeks old according to what i have researched. I have had him since last saturday when i found him on the ground,and he seems to be doing good but this morning his eyes opened for the first time and he had diarrhea. This is my first time to own a squirrel and I really dont want anything to happen to Tucker. He doesnt seem to be dehydrated and he is very active,he also is eating really good and is going to the bathroom fine. Also what kind of milk should he be on? should i be giving him pedialyte for the diarrhea? Plz help!

Gina
08-01-2010, 07:27 PM
Someone should be on soon to help you more but in the meantime for feeding please refer to this:

In light of the recent problems rehabbers have been experiencing with Esbilac formula, it has been decided that the best alternative is Fox Valley 32/40.
http://foxvalleynutrition.com/prod/d...p?CID=1&PLID=1
Nicholas P. Vlamis, President (Nick)
(800) 679-4666
If you call in your order and tell him you need it quickly he'll be happy to oblige. He can ship to you regular post 3-5 days and overnight. He's very nice and very easy to work with.
In the meantime you will need to feed your baby a home-made formula, but please for the sake of the baby, do not feed this for more than 4-7 days. It's a great temporary replacer milk but it lacks certain vitamins and minerals that the babies need to thrive. This recipe will ensure that your baby will be well nourished until your order from Fox Valley arrives.

Jackie (Jackie in Tampa) has graciously offered her temporary replacement formula recipe.
Jackie's Goat Milk Recipe
1 cup goats milk
1/3 cup heavy cream
1/3 cup dannon all natural vanilla yogurt

Mix well and keep in a covered plastic or glass container in the refrigerator. Replace after 48 hours.