PDA

View Full Version : Release/general care questions

Shaky
11-02-2006, 08:49 AM
Hi. I'm new at this, so I could use some guidance.

Last week we found a little gray female squirrel in the back yard, near her dead sibling, under a nest that appears to have been damaged. We have a marauding hawk in the area, and we think the nest was raided. Our local wildlife rescue was full, so they suggested we try to raise her ourselves and pointed us to a care sheet posted on their website. We got her rehydrated and started on formula. A week later she seems healthy and eats a few solid foods between feedings of formula (more on that later).

I'm a little bit confused on her age, because the descriptions I have read are somewhat contradictory. When she came to us her eyes were open, she couldn't sit up on her haunches (but was trying) and her tail fur was almost flat against her tail. She could climb, but she was clumsy. In less than a week, she's now sitting up on her own, curling her (now bushy) tail over her back and climbing all over the cage with surprising agility. She's still a little clumsy outside the cage and can't leap very far or run very fast. She weighs 4.3 ounces and takes 6cc of formula at each feeding. I guess her age at six to seven weeks, but I keep reading contradictions to that.

That brings up a serious planning issue. I'm in Alabama, and our local wildlife rescue's help sheet says to winter squirrels that aren't ready for release by the first of November. She is obviously NOT anywhere near ready for release. If I'm judging her age correctly, she won't be ready until winter has already set in. From everyone else's questions, it seems like this litter was behind schedule.

How cold can it be outside and still release them? This week our high temps have ranged from the 70s to the 50s. We're going to build an outside pen for her tomorrow, but I don't know if she's old enough now to stay outside full time.