PDA

View Full Version : Need Young Squirrel Help in Boston!

Jackson
05-09-2010, 11:21 PM
Hi everyone,

Last Thursday...after some phone calls to wildlife experts and a trip to the mspca...I decided that the best thing to do for an orphaned squirrel found outside one of my work locations was to bring him home.

I work in the mental health field and visit various residential homes throughout the day. Upon arriving at one house I found out that earlier in the morning a staff member was walking up the driveway and a baby (young adult) squirrel ran right up to him and hopped on his foot. They put out a cardboard box and some food for him...and when I got there he was fast asleep. I picked him up and examined him...which might not of been the smartest thing to do...but he has ended up being the most docile wild animal I've ever encountered. I am bewildered by how friendly he is with humans. I was told by the wildlife people and the mspca to put him under a tree and that hopefully his mother would come claim him. I did that...put him on the lawn underneath the one tree in the vicinity of the house. I came out ten minutes later to find that he had fallen completely asleep right where I put him. Clearly he has no concept of prey/predator relations. I then put a box next to the tree and put him in there. Came out ten minutes later and he ran up to my leg and hopped on. I turned away and went back inside...called another wildlife expert from the basement office phone and while on the phone i turned around and found that he had attached himself to the window above my head and was staring at me. Left the room and went back outside a little bit later...and he had fallen asleep in the original box that staff had put out for him that morning. I stuck around for a couple hours to see if mom would come back...but i didn't see any squirrels whatsoever and staff hadn't seen any throughout the day. I decided then that I would bring him home and go from there.