PDA

View Full Version : Grey Squirrel Cage Question

jessicalyn
04-12-2010, 08:08 PM
Hi everyone I am new to TSB although I have been an avid reader for months. I have a question when we move our lol "Punkin"to a larger cage we found off a rescue sight that "ferret nation" cage provided enough space. Now it has plastic inserts on both levels, the bottom level I cover with a comfortable blanket and the second level is coved as well we did not want her to chew up the inserts, but I am now aware the spacing should be 1/2", not the 1", and I do not want her to attempt to chew the bars ( although we spoil her with chew toys) To be a safe mom ( I treat her like she is one of my kids) should I buy another cage or can I have my husband possible wrap it in the correct 1/2" wire needed?? She does not attempt to eat the bars (she is 5 mths old) but I have read that the spaceing could hurt her teeth so now I am a lil nervous.. Any ideas???

Nancy in New York
04-12-2010, 08:23 PM
I have a little red that we put the hardware cloth around and it works perfect...I will look for a photo to show you what I mean...

http://i673.photobucket.com/albums/vv95/nancym518/IMG_1937.jpg
We didn't put it were the door closed because it interferred with it closing and had some sharp points on it...but it's perfect...Oh course Jeffrey is never in his cage though....:rotfl
http://i673.photobucket.com/albums/vv95/nancym518/IMG_1942.jpg

jessicalyn
04-13-2010, 07:59 AM