PDA

View Full Version : Life as you know it WILL change--

Chickenlegs
01-02-2010, 11:25 AM
I'm a relative newbie to the wonderful world of squirrels. I stopped being a normal person the second I saw my darling Kibbles for the first time. If you find a baby and have any delusions about keeping him/her, understand how abnormal things become once your heart is wrapped around that little miracle. PLEASE know what you are getting into. A squirrel is not your pet--you are his family.

1. Go ahead and toss or put in a safety deposit box any antiques or objects you don't want chewed up or knocked down.
2. There is no spare time. There is squirrel time.
3. Invest in wood filler as you will need plenty to patch up the chewed areas of what used to be YOUR home
4. Squirrels need ROOM. The largest room in your house should do for starters.
5. Squirrels need company. If there's only one, you have been promoted to squirrel. It's a full time job. Your duties will include, food preparation and feeding, playtime, clean up, repair detail, playtime, safety detail, playtime, search and rescue, clean up, bank robbery to pay for replacement items, playtime AND since squirrels are illegal in so many states, if you should need a vet, your job may include long distance chauffeur.
6. Squirrels are master redecorators. They will rearrange things where they want them--most likely on the floor or dragged onto a shelf--that they have cleared for that purpose.
7. Squirrels have SHARP claws and teeth. Prepare to be scratched and possibly chomped. And remember if your darling does draw blood, anger has no place with squirrels.
8. Cats sit on whatever you are working on--squirrels chew it up (are you getting a destructive undercurrent here? Good!)
9. A squirrel needs GOOD food. You can't buy cheap "squirrel chow." If you can't afford a squirrel, PLEASE call a rehabber. They can't either but they're already squirrel crazed and don't know any better.