PDA

View Full Version : Strange pooping question

djarenspace9
10-08-2009, 10:05 PM
Has anyone had a similar issue and can either explain it or advise me?

I have a 5-6 week old male Eastern Gray (furry guy, eyes open and very active). He seems perfectly normal except his anus does not close...it's always open. When he poops it comes out but the last bit usually stays right there at the opening (I check him regularly and wipe it off). The opening never tightens back up. Otherwise he seems fine, drinks his formula and is eating solid food and the poop is normal too.

Not sure if I need to concern myself about it...

Byrd
10-08-2009, 11:43 PM
I know Roscoe when i first got him had a hard time pooping and there would be bits left up in there that kinda held it open but it closed once they got out... I am by no means an expert have you been stimulating him?

djarenspace9
10-09-2009, 12:03 AM
I've only had him one day but the rehabber that was caring for him had been stimulating him and suggested I do so. Usually he has already gone when I go feed him, just has one or two strays left behind! It does not look irritated or otherwise concerning though, just odd! I'll be keeping a close eye on him for sure.
:thankyou

PBluejay2
10-09-2009, 01:00 AM
I had a pinkie earlier this summer whose anus stayed gaped open, crusting over with poo. Even when I cleaned her out--stimulating, moistening, and swabbing away the dried poo--the anus would remain open. I lost her at about three and a half weeks. I've read that bacterial infections that target the rectum exist, and if I had the opportunity to do things over, I would have given her antibiotics from day one. The condition might be more serious than you think.

djarenspace9
10-09-2009, 10:55 AM
:sanp3 Anyone else have info about this type of bacteria? Would Baytril be appropriate? He is 5" and 65g right now.