PDA

View Full Version : Mange??

vettech7
08-24-2009, 09:50 AM
Hi. I recently found a baby squirrel. He's about 5 weeks old now. At first he was doing great, but in the last 3 days he's begun to develop a skin problem. It started with his tail getting little bumps. Then his tail began to lose hair. Now he has hair loss on his face and feet. He's not scratching. Is this mange?? If so, what should I do for treatment? Thanks

merman
08-24-2009, 11:23 AM
I resized the pic for better view..

Any ideas ?

:wave123

gs1
08-24-2009, 11:26 AM
wow, i have no idea. Hopefully someone will be on soon.

:grouphug Very cute little fellow!!!:Love_Icon

vettech7
08-24-2009, 12:26 PM
Thanks for resizing....I'm new to this. Hopefully someone can help me. I have raised tons of babies because I use to work at a vet, but I have never had any that had any problems. He's still very active and eating great. Thanks for any help you can give me :-)

NaturesGift
08-24-2009, 01:28 PM
mmm they look kinda wet to me.

Mange is caused by mites and normally you would see dry crusty bald patches.

Mange is also very itchy.

could you post a picture of more of his body so we can see how his tail looks and such?

what are you feeding? and what is he using for bedding?

TO be safe I would give him some new fresh bedding.

his ear looks a lil off to me. is there a bubble of some dort or swelling on the tip of his ear?
Mandie

PBluejay2
08-24-2009, 01:31 PM
Inspect his toes carefully. The third toe looks swollen (may be just the pic) but it may be the beginning stages of pox. Also, mites other than mange mights can "cluster" in an area and cause scabbing and sores.

NaturesGift
08-24-2009, 01:33 PM
PbJ I was concerned about that as well. His ear reminds me of Nutters ear. Prayerfully it is something else. Mange is so much better than pox. :nono

Pointy Tale
08-24-2009, 02:15 PM
:grouphug

vettech7
08-24-2009, 02:37 PM