PDA

View Full Version : Squirrel Pox

Girl Squirrel
06-21-2008, 03:49 PM
Hi Everyone, I’ve joined this board about 6 months ago and enjoyed visiting it a few months before that. I’ve been rehabbing in Texas for the past 7 years and I’d like to share one of my experiences with you.

It was March and Benny was my first squirrel of the season. He was a 7 week old gray, 72 grams, very thin and covered in fleas. I had noticed a little swelling on his eye lid and thought it was a flea bite. Within 2 weeks it had grown a lot and I took him into my vet. The vet thought it was a tear duct infection and cut it open to drain but when he opened it up, it was empty. He gave me Baytril and we left.

Two days later a few more lesions had shown up of his foot and face. I called the vet to tell him and that was when I first heard the words “squirrel pox”. I started doing research on the internet and pretty much found nothing about it other than it usually ends in death.

It had mentioned the squirrels would lose their appetite, so I threw the 5% rule out the window and fed him as much as he could stand. I wanted to put some weight on him incase he got to the point where he couldn’t eat. Which never happened, Benny was a pig from day one.

Not having any information on how to treat squirrel pox, I just had to watch them pop up all over him. I would occasionally put him on Baytril for a fever. He was very warm to the touch and so I called Shirley & Allan Casey (squirrel experts from Colorado who I knew from taking a few of their squirrel classes), about if they knew a way I could safely take his temperature. They didn’t, so I just continued on with going by feel.

Looking back, I don’t think I would have treated his fever. I think he was warm because his body was working so hard to fight this virus. Giving him the Baytril was just giving his body one more thing to deal with.