PDA

View Full Version : baby squirrel may die, help!!

Angel's Mom
07-20-2006, 09:18 PM
Angel gave birth this morning to 3 babies! She is nursing 2. She left the first born in a corner. I didn't interfere until I returned after work, around 6 pm. He was cold by then and not moving. As soon as I had him in my palm he started to move then to whine. Can't convince Angel to take back. He is a fighter so I am trying to get him to nurse. I made puppy milk, in small bottle. Typing with one hand, frantic! What do I do?

Apple Corps
07-20-2006, 09:27 PM
I am a newbie but fro what I read:

Keep the baby warm

Get it on pedialyte - from the drug store or grocery store

Feed it carefully - do not overdo and let the baby aspirate the fluid into its little lungs - small amounts from a small syringe (NO NEEDLE) or on your finger

If fluid is aspirated hold the baby nose down and let it drain out

Slowly start feeding on esbilac

MOVE QUICKLY - hydration is needed NOW!!!!!!!!!

Apple Corps
07-20-2006, 09:28 PM
For others - I hope my advice is correct - please add info as appropriate.

Sounds like time is critical now!!!

GhosTS
07-20-2006, 10:14 PM
Good to hear that angel gave birth to babies.Sad to hear about the baby who is in a bad condition.

Your information is right.Also remember to make him poo/pee after the feedings.with a damp cotten ball rub his ginital area softly.

There are good info on Chris's site.

http://www.squirrelsandmore.com/category.cfm?Category=38

Secret Squirrel
07-20-2006, 10:34 PM