Thread: Chocolate..is it harmful to squirrels?

Squirrelygirl63 Guest

Default Chocolate..is it harmful to squirrels?

My Adoree and I just had our first food fight.. she got a bite size Snicker and it was a fight to get it away! She did not bite me but did a lot of serious growling before I got it away. She had only taken a tiny bite. Will she be OK?
    Thanks for any responses!

Default Re: Chocolate..is it harmful to squirrels?

She should be fine....p*ssed off at you, but fine . Since she only got a little bite. I think chocolate is certainly not good for squirrels but not as highly toxic to them as it is to dogs, for instance.
    Island Rehabber
    NY State Licensed
    Wildlife Rehabilitator

"Ancora Imparo" (I am still learning)
    Michelangelo

If you can't afford the vet,
    You can't afford a pet.
    NEGLECT IS ABUSE.

"Better one day in the trees, than a lifetime in a cage."

'...and the greatest of these, is Love. '

There is soooo little actual chocolate in a Snickers bar I really think she'll be fine. Now if it had been that extra dark stuff they have out on the market now, I'd worry more.

My Great Dane ate most of a bag of hershey's kissed with almonds the other night. Yes.. foil and all. She not only didn't die, she didn't even get a belly ache. That chocolate thing for dogs is highly blown out of proportion. I can't tell you how many chocolate thefts we've had over the years with our dogs. So far... none dead and none even sick.

TexanSquirrel Guest

But a few pieces of bacon nearly killed my dog. People food and pets don't mix, even though sometimes you think you're getting off easy.

I bet your little one will be fine. Next time try trading a nut for it - might help you keep your fingers!

Isn't is strange though - that while chocolate is not good for squirrel's they still seem to "GO NUTS" when they smell it...... and then we (the humans) have to fight to get it away from them all while protecting our fingers from sudden death.