Thread: Prickly Pear?

Default Prickly Pear?

I have a large prickly pear cactus that is currently blooming. Are either the flowers or the "pears" safe for squirrels to eat.

Default Re: Prickly Pear?

Quote Originally Posted by rottilvr79 View Post
    I have a large prickly pear cactus that is currently blooming. Are either the flowers or the "pears" safe for squirrels to eat.

The fruit is very safe, but I've found that only some like it.

It's my favorite, though, so I'll PM you my address and you just send all the extra ones to me.
    Island Rehabber
    NY State Licensed
    Wildlife Rehabilitator

"Ancora Imparo" (I am still learning)
    Michelangelo

If you can't afford the vet,
    You can't afford a pet.
    NEGLECT IS ABUSE.

"Better one day in the trees, than a lifetime in a cage."

'...and the greatest of these, is Love. '

My mother lives in AZ, and prickly pear is everywhere there, both wild and used as a popular landscaping plant. Look at those paddle shaped pieces - the javelinas EAT big chunks out of those - they hit the yards at night and you find the bite chunks out in the AM. They are COMPLETELY covered in long, NASTY spines! I don't know how they do it - I am pretty sure they have needle nose pliers they carry to de-spine them first...

Thanks. I'll try giving them some of the peeled fruits once they ripen. I would be happy to ship some of this off. It keeps growing and my mom goes crazy at the mention of cutting it down. LOL

My squirrels love em. I burn the little tiny thorns off with a lighter, then wash with water before giving them. They have a excellent calcium to phosphorus ratio. http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/...-juices/2039/2

Don't mean to hijack - but what about the cactus pad/leaf itself? Is that safe and nutritious?