Thread: Possible upper respitory 2-3 weeks old

Default Possible upper respitory 2-3 weeks old

I'll try to make this short, i'm currently rescuing 2 baby squirrels 2-3 weeks old one was found with head trauma. Blood coming from its nose and mouth, i've managed to stop the bleeding but he seems to have an upper respitory problem he will eat .5cc's from his normal 3-4cc feedings (snot coming from its nose, wheezing from its nasal cavitys when breathing) his chest does not sound like has fluid I cannot hear any crackling in there, but im worried about dehydration since hes not eating properly.

I would like to administer some sq LRS fluids about 5% of his weight divided into two administrations twice daily, and put him near a distilled humidifier for a few minutes to try and open up his nasal cavitys. Im a veterinary technician but have more experience with dogs and cats than small rodents, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

The Orphans were found about 2 days ago the healthy one is doing fine eating urinating and deficating, I got the lethargic one to deficate this morning and urinate yesterday but the poop may be from what it had left from its mothers milk. Not sure if i should start him on some baytril yet or not i would like to try non-medicine first and see if i can improve its health before he declines rapidly.

Default Re: Possible upper respitory 2-3 weeks old

Does anyone here have experience with this kind of problem? How long is a sufficient amount of time to nebulize? When should I start taking action and begin antibiotic treatment? Is it a good idea to use a squeeze bulb on the nose after humidifying? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Squirrel-Earl thank you so much for helping these babies...I have no clue about what you can do...but I do think you should move this thread to Life-threatening ...it will get noticed by our heavyweight rehabbers Maybe cut and paste to a new thread there This is really important