Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Help baby squirrel anus is red and swollen

Default Help baby squirrel anus is red and swollen

My dad and I saved some baby squirrels that fell from some trees we were trimming. They fell about 35 feet and are about 3-4 weeks old. There was four in total, now there is three. One died we believe because it had milk in it's lungs and because it got cold. I'm not a squirrel expert I've never rehabilitated an animal before I researched as much as I could the first day we got them. Unfortunately all I had available at the moment was a puppy bottle from gnc and puppy formula. Heating wise I didn't know they couldn't warm themselves no wonder they didn't get warm after being wrapped in a ton of blankets. We have now a syringe to feed them and a lamp to heat them nicely. Before the formula I gave them pedialyte, then puppy formula. I feed every three hours about 1 ml or a bit more if they seem to want more. I keep them as clean as I can but they all have diarrhea and I stimulate often so they go pee and stuff. But like I said the smallest baby has a red swollen anus. And I need help to stop the diarrhea and the redness. I've had them for 6 days now

Default Re: Help baby squirrel anus is red and swollen

What kind of puppy formula are you feeding the babies?

Quote Originally Posted by lukaslolamaus View Post
    What kind of puppy formula are you feeding the babies?
    I just left home but as soon as I come back I'll let you know. I just know my dad got it from pet smart

The formula has to have probiotics in it. The recommend kind is esbilac with probiotics. I'm not one of the expert on here. Usually the babies are being kept warm by placing a heating pad on low setting under half the container that they are in. I don't know how effective a heating lamp is. The babies are supposed to be kept warm in a dark and quiet place.