Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I found a squirrel-NOW WHAT?

Default I found a squirrel-NOW WHAT?

Hi! I'm Gussie! I have been a vet assistant for ten years but I admit total ignorance about the baby squirrel I found three weeks ago. I got some advice from a re-habber and it seems too late on a couple of levels to release him so I will be keeping him. He is approx. 9 or 10 weeks old and is a Red squirrel. He badly needs a bigger cage ( currently in an aquarium). Advice please?! I do know that the Reds can be extra naughty.......Thanks!!........Gussie

Default Re: I found a squirrel-NOW WHAT?

Just pointed someone in this direction who knows red very well. Thanks for helping him! Can you tell us a bit about him? What and how much/often are you feeding?
    Squirrels, squirrels and more squirrels....
    Prayers for the people who make this a better world...
    savesquirrels@sbcglobal.net

Quote Originally Posted by Gussie View Post
    Hi! I'm Gussie! I have been a vet assistant for ten years but I admit total ignorance about the baby squirrel I found three weeks ago. I got some advice from a re-habber and it seems too late on a couple of levels to release him so I will be keeping him. He is approx. 9 or 10 weeks old and is a Red squirrel. He badly needs a bigger cage ( currently in an aquarium). Advice please?! I do know that the Reds can be extra naughty.......Thanks!!........Gussie
    to TSB Gussie
    What kind of advice would a (real) rehabber give you outside over wintering that makes you say: "too late on a couple of levels to release him so I will be keeping him." ??
    After that question, please explain the diet you are feeding him and we can start there...