Thread: Possible Pox outbreak in St Pete, FL

Hybrid View

JessicaLynn Guest

Default Possible Pox outbreak in St Pete, FL

I don't think I'm jumping the gun here. I recently posted a question about Mange/Pox on Jr, my youngest released. I research for a living (wanted to pursue vet school, but I would've eventually killed a neglectful "owner" or two!), so I try not to make assumptions until I'm pretty sure of something. Jackie in Tampa is now backing me up by giving me all the help and info she can. When I first found the Board I was glad to see that there was somebody so informed and caring in my vicinity, but I could've never guessed that she would be such a determined angel <3

Anyway, I'm noticing MANY more sores on my baby, but that could be because he's wanting so much love while I make him stay inside with me. My oldest, Sir Steve ( long story ) is now a sweet, sickly squirrel as well. He only has a bump on his ear and an itchiness issue, thank goodness, but I've seen three other squirrels today with a bump or two. They are now enjoying echinacea water, and I plan on giving them anything else I can.

I'm doing my best to keep thorough documentation. Today is day one of Operation Pox Buster (yes, we need a better name for it!)
    With all of the wonderful work everyone has done, it deserves to be compiled even further with thorough case studies. Once I can get Jr through his first round of meds (still working on that part, unfortunately) I'll elaborate.

If there's anyone in the area, please feel free to PM me with reports of any presence/absence of symptoms. I'd love to be able to help, even if it's just with documentation.

Default Re: Possible Pox outbreak in St Pete, FL

Wishing you success in your battle against pox. I hate that disease. You have a strong Squirrel Angel fighting at your side. The earlier you start meds, seems like the better the outcome.
    Henry's Healthy Pets
    Henry's Healthy Blocks, Fox Valley Formula, Fleecies Cage Gear and more