Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: I think he is dying:(

jimbob21 Guest

Default I think he is dying:(

so i have a baby squirrel and he is laying on his side sleeping right now and sometimes he will cough he has been pooping but it has been a little runny i have feed him penut butter and formula he is about 5 to 8 weeks old when i touch him he seems stiff but he resist being pushed on his back (i was seeing if he was conscious ) please help i dont want tank to die please tell me he is ok and this behaior is normal when they sleep

jimbob21 Guest

Default Re: i think he is dyeing:(

now he is pooping himself in his sleep his breathing is slower and he is almost completely unresponsive im afraid he wont be there when i wake up tomorrow

help me now please i dont want him to die i need help

Charles Chuckles Guest

OK I am not an expert/ but I will try to get with someone that can help you....I promise to be Right back.......

jimbob21 Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Charley Chuckles
    OK I am not an expert/ but I will try to get with someone that can help you....I promise to be Right back.......
    thank you i have him on a heat source right now to see if that helps

i got him today could this be a mental issue?

Charles Chuckles Guest

Yes heat/ make sure only on one side...have you been to the thread about food/emergency ???
    Quote Originally Posted by jimbob21
    thank you i have him on a heat source right now to see if that helps

Pinch the skin up at his shoulders to see if he is dehydrated - if the skin immediately goes back into place he isn't, but if it takes a while to go back down he is dehydrated. If so he needs Pedialyte - just start him of with 1mL/cc for now until someone can get you more information. And keep him warm.

jimbob21 Guest

Yes heat/ make sure only on one side...have you been to the thread about food/emergency ???
    no not yet i will go now

jimbob21 Guest

Quote Originally Posted by SaraK