PDA

View Full Version : I think he is dying:(

jimbob21
05-29-2009, 01:25 AM
so i have a baby squirrel and he is laying on his side sleeping right now and sometimes he will cough he has been pooping but it has been a little runny i have feed him penut butter and formula he is about 5 to 8 weeks old when i touch him he seems stiff but he resist being pushed on his back (i was seeing if he was conscious ) please help i dont want tank to die please tell me he is ok and this behaior is normal when they sleep

jimbob21
05-29-2009, 01:43 AM
now he is pooping himself in his sleep his breathing is slower and he is almost completely unresponsive im afraid he wont be there when i wake up tomorrow

help me now please i dont want him to die i need help

Charles Chuckles
05-29-2009, 01:53 AM
OK I am not an expert/ but I will try to get with someone that can help you....I promise to be Right back.......

jimbob21
05-29-2009, 01:55 AM
OK I am not an expert/ but I will try to get with someone that can help you....I promise to be Right back.......
thank you i have him on a heat source right now to see if that helps

i got him today could this be a mental issue?

Charles Chuckles
05-29-2009, 01:59 AM
Yes heat/ make sure only on one side...have you been to the thread about food/emergency ???
thank you i have him on a heat source right now to see if that helps

SaraK
05-29-2009, 02:00 AM
Pinch the skin up at his shoulders to see if he is dehydrated - if the skin immediately goes back into place he isn't, but if it takes a while to go back down he is dehydrated. If so he needs Pedialyte - just start him of with 1mL/cc for now until someone can get you more information. And keep him warm.

jimbob21
05-29-2009, 02:00 AM
Yes heat/ make sure only on one side...have you been to the thread about food/emergency ???
no not yet i will go now

jimbob21
05-29-2009, 02:03 AM